Academic Catalog

Grading Policy

Grading System – Institutional credit is graded on a quality point system based on the following scale:

Letter Grade Quality Points
A 4.0
A- 3.7
B+ 3.3
B 3.0
B- 2.7
C+ 2.3
C 2.0
C- 1.7
D+ 1.3
D 1.0
D- 0.7
F 0.0

Listed below are other grade notations that may appear on student records. These grades are not used in computing the quality point average.

  • P, PS = Pass*
  • I = Incomplete*
  • NP = No Pass*
  • NR = Not Reported*
  • AU = Audit*
  • PC = Pass Continue*
  • U = Unsatisfactory*
  • W = Withdrawal*
  • WX = Withdrawal from the College*

Not reflected in grade point average

Repeated courses are indicated as follows:

  • E = Course repeated and not included in Term GPA
  • I = Course repeated and included in Term GPA

Transfer Credit – Credit earned at other accredited institutions and applied toward degree programs at MCLA is awarded based upon equivalency and an earned grade of “C-”, or higher for undergraduate credit; and a grade of “B”, or higher for graduate credit.  Transfer credit, MCLA requirement waivers, and experiential credit/prior learning are indicated on the record with a grade of “T” and are not included in the grade point average.

Grade Point Average - The grade point average is a numerical indication of the student's academic achievement. It is the quotient of the total quality points earned divided by the total credits attempted for all courses in which grades A through F were received.  No quality points are assigned to notations AU, I, NR, NP, P, PC, PS, T, U, W or WX.